How to Check What Promo Codes Were Used. Step-by-Step Guide

Now when your iOS app is out you are trying to make the world speak about it. You reach reviewers, bloggers, run give-aways and distribute dozens of promo codes. Indeed, you keep track of when you issued the codes (they expire in 4 weeks) and whom you are sending them. But how can you make sure those promo codes are not sent into the interstellar space and reach the intended recipients?

AppStore has no way to track your promo codes. Period. Don’t even look for it.

If you use AppAnnie (and odds are you use it), you can check how many promo codes were redeemed and when. However, there is no data about which exactly promo codes were used. To check the usage of your promo code, login to AppAnnie and go to Analytics > Sales and choose Units tab. Quantity of used promo codes will be displayed with an yellow tab on the graph.

AppAnnie Promotions graph

App promotions are also displayed in the table below the graph:

AppAnnie promotions table

Still, it does not provide a breakdown for individual promo codes that you sent to TUAW and Mac|Life. How do you check if they were redeemed or not? Time for some manual work.

1. Open iTunes on your computer and logout.

2. Login again to your account. If there is an option to save password, choose NOT to do it.

3. Quit iTunes and open it again.

4. Try to click on your account in the top right corner (click on your email address, not on the white triangle).

itunes account

Login dialog should pop up:

iTunes redeem code login

Do not enter your password, click Cancel. If iTunes opens your account instead, try to logout, and restart iTunes.

5. Now we go to the bottom of iTunes and click Redeem:

iTunes where is redeem

6. Copy one of your promo codes that you know it was used (just to be sure) and paste into the Code field. Click Redeem. AppStore should tell that this code has already been used without asking for a password.

iTunes redeem code

7. Last step: to be on the safe side, try to redeem one of promo codes you have not sent to anyone yet. If you have done everything correctly, the login dialog should open. It means that this promo code is still available. Click Cancel, we’ll use that promo code later.

Now you can go through all of your promo codes, mark those that have been used and maybe even follow up with those persons if they like your app and when they are going to review it. Good idea is to check your unused promo codes periodically because some busy reviewers and editors may redeem them later.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>